A Good Day Made Better

27 Apr

I just spent part of my afternoon shooting the breeze with some students, some of whom were in my most fun English 10 Honors a couple of years ago and now are on the verge of graduating.  We reminisced about that class and the good times we had.  I was feeling especially happy because we just finished the elections for next year’s Academic Decathlon officers, and I was afraid it would be a popularity contest.  It turns out that the most popular students were also the same ones who really deserved to win and had earned the right to be an officer.  The new president and I high-fived and exclaimed, “Dream Team!” at the same time.

The blogosphere, it seems, conspired to increase my happiness, for Asifa nominated me for the Versatile Blogger Award.  Thank you, Asifa, for educating me on India through your vignettes, your UN contributions and your poetry.  Your constant support of my blog means a lot to me.

The rules of the award are simple:

  • Thank the person who gave you this award. That’s common courtesy.
  •  Include a link to their blog.
  •  Next, select 15 blogs/bloggers that you’ve recently discovered or follow regularly.
  •  Nominate those 15 bloggers for the Versatile Blogger Award
  •  Finally, tell the person who nominated you 7 things about yourself.

Here is my list of nominees for the Versatile blogger award in no particular order; they are all good reads and represent a variety of perspectives:

{Hungry Heart}{Thirsty Mind}

navywifechronicles

Raising a Realist

mirrorwithamemory

jodiambroseblog

Joe’s Primal Scream

Word Play

vinnylanni

Broadside

Pouring My Art Out

underdogcomedy

All that makes you…

whatevertheyaint

In My Opinion…

Classroom as Microcosm

Seven things about me:

1.  My favorite presidents are Harry Truman, Abraham Lincoln, and FDR.

2.  I would love to visit New Mexico.

3.  My favorite contemporary novel is Peace Like A River by Leif Enger.  Check it out.  His So Brave, Young, and Handsome is a great read, too.

4.  My last meal would be my mom’s Spicy Pasta Pie (made with button mushrooms, Mom), a tossed green salad, and a glass of milk.

5.  I met my husband at Humboldt State when we took Early Modern European History together.  We both wore Converse, we both drove Saturns, and yet it took me one and a half years to finally go out with him (I had lessons to learn).

6.  My favorite color is blue.

7.  Artie Shaw’s Begin the Beguine tickles my ear.

6 Responses to “A Good Day Made Better”

  1. Jodi Ambrose April 27, 2012 at 3:17 am #

    You totally kick ass! Thank you so much! :) My hubby just got home from 9 days on the road a few hours ago. As soon as he heads off to work tomorrow I’m going to do all of the above steps. Thanks again. As a former HS teacher, hearing you describe your day takes me back to those old days.

    My heart is officially warmed for the day! XOXO

    • alundeberg April 27, 2012 at 12:05 pm #

      I enjoy reading your work! Congrats!

  2. Asifa April 27, 2012 at 9:52 am #

    Hey Congrats!!! And it was really interesting to learn 7 things about you.. I admire Abraham Lincoln and FDR too :-)

    • All that makes you... May 11, 2012 at 1:35 am #

      Thank you!!!! I am finishing up my post for tomorrow and will be linking back to your site. Keep up the good work and your cupcake picture is evil! I have the most uncontrollable sweet tooth and you can’t just waive frosting and sprinkles in front of me! ;)

      • Asifa May 11, 2012 at 5:58 am #

        Hi :-) You seem to have posted your comment to Amy as a reply to my comment..Cos I got it in my Dashboard Comments Section :-)

      • All that makes you... May 11, 2012 at 10:36 am #

        Newbie! Goodness. Now I have to figure this out… Sorry!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 646 other followers

