Genuine Sunshine

When I started this blog two months ago, I really had no idea what would happen as a result of it.  Would anybody read it?  Would anybody like it? Would anybody care?  Now this is my 65th (?) post and from post 1 to now I’ve developed a nice group of followers that span the globe, I have had my blog deactivated by WP (got flagged as spam), and I have “met” some  amazing and supportive co-bloggers.  It’s them who keep me coming back.

Sometimes I think about giving it up and getting my reading time back, but then I think about weird conflicts and what’s going on with his students and children, and they’re both lucky to have him.  Or I think about my new Michigan friend Dad Knows and his views on family and nature; he doesn’t consider himself funny, but he’s funny.  Then there’s the wry humor of Sweet Mother who reflects on the ridiculous in the world.  Then there’s Abbie at All that makes you… who shares her very funny stories about raising three boys.  And Omar at underdog comedy who provides a glimpse into the world of stand up.  For new poetry everyday, there is Five Reflections who writes amazing haikus and Dean J. Baker who writes compelling poems that, for me, remember lost moments.  And Habiba at My Word Your Ear.com who also writes poetry and provides insight into Pakistani life.  And That Fred Guy who has a crazy Canadian sense of humor who cracks me up.  Even though you would have to pry away grains from my cold dead hands, I do enjoy reading glutenvygirl as she explores the gluten-free life in a fun way. And then there’s bohemianspiritedmom who nominated me for the Genuine Blogger and the Sunshine Award. Her posts about being a mom and raising a family in this crazy world.   So it is not WordPress that keeps me here, it’s all of you.

Genuine Blogger Awards doesn’t come with any specific rules, however, the Sunshine Award does, and here they are:

  1. Link the award to the person who gave it to you.
  2. Answer the questions that come with it.
  3. Pass it along to 10 people and let them know they have received it.

The questions are:

  • Favorite color: Blue
  • Favorite number: 9
  • Favorite Non-alcoholic drink:  water
  • Facebook or Twitter:  Facebook
  • My Passion: Toss up between reading, writing, and napping
  • Favorite pattern:  Stripes
  • Favorite Day of the Week:  Friday
  • Favorite Flower:  My blue rose

My nominees are listed above.  Please check out their blogs and their work. Again thank you, bohemianspiritedmom and all of you who follow and read my blog.

11 thoughts on “Genuine Sunshine

  1. Thank you for the awards! I have linked you on my site and asked for anyone reading to share with me other sites I might like. You are such a thorough and kind writer. Thanks again for the nominations and thanks you for coming by and commenting. Have a great weekend. It is so nice in NC I may just not touch my computer until Sunday. I am so excited to share a very old photo but I am having trouble in my head on how to share the story. ANyway, I followed the rules to the best of my ability, (and for someone named after Abbie Hoffman that is a lot.)

    1. You’re welcome and thank you! It’s beautiful here in CA, and I have NO essays to grade to this weekend. I have a feeling I will be out and about. Hubby is going to take me out on Mother’s Day since I am a “mom” to our two cats– I hope you–the real mom– has a great Mother’s Day!

    1. Thank you and your welcome! These awards are kind of silly but I like them because they’re like mini-birthdays– you get a little gift in the mail and then you get to re-gift it to make a mini-birthday for someone else.

Leave a comment