Have You Played With Your Diction Today?

You know what they say, a day without playing with your diction is, well, a day wasted.  To help you meet your daily dose of diction fun, I bring you this exercise from Sage Cohen’s book, Writing The Life Poetic.

Guidelines: Choose one (or two or three) of the following sentences. Fill in the blanks with the most surprising words and phrases you can imagine.  If you take delight in your new sentence, please share with others in the comment box.

1. I was afraid to tell you _______________________

2. If only the _________________ would believe _____________________

3. She had always wanted to ___________________ but ____________________

4. Lately, the ________________ was _________________ despite the ________________ it once was.

5.  No two __________________ will ever be ____________________

Have fun!

Source: Cohen, Sage. Writing The Life Poetic: An Invitation To Read And Write Poetry.  Cincinnatti: Writer’s Digest Books, 2009. Print.

10 thoughts on “Have You Played With Your Diction Today?

  1. 1. I was afraid to tell you “that was really me face down in the water, with my derriere facing up, so I’ll just say it was an April Fools joke instead!”

    2. If only the “readers of my post” would believe “that isn’t really me, my mind would be more freely at ease, but yet again I might jest, since confusing and amusing folks is what I enjoy doing best.” 😉

    3. She had always wanted to “take a picture like that of me”, but “only if she, my wife, would be the only one to see it – but now I have cast a cloud of doubt over whether in fact, such an image is now out for all to see. So the final shout from me will be *April Fools!* to end all controversy!

    That was fun! 🙂 Thanks for liking my post “Moving to Australia”.

    1. I read your post using my WordPress app on my phone, so I couldn’t comment. But I was so relieved to have been “punk’d”– I kept thinking, “Can’t he just go on vacation or buy a flashy new sports car?!”

      Thanks for playing! Not only did you use diction, but also rhyming diction.

      1. Thanks for being so gracious because honestly I realize now that since you had no familiarity with me at all, that wasn’t a sensible thing for me to do. I can assure you that I’m really quite harmless and I just suffered a peculiar lack of good judgment in this instance which I am sorry for.

        As you can gather from the title of my blog, I do love wordplay and I guess that sometimes I can get a little carried away with my wordplay. And I did enjoy your opportunity here to play with my diction.

        Thanks very much again for your patience, and thanks for following my blog. 🙂

      2. Oh, I thought your post was hilarious– one of the best April Fool’s I’ve seen (once I realized I’d been fooled!). I don’t know how harmless you are since you drive your wife to her therapist. : )

      3. 😀 I can see now that you and I are going to get along just fine. Lol Do you feel it would be more appropriate for me to make her walk to her sessions? 😉 Tough love and that sort of thing?

  2. Since you’re having a pseudo-midlife crisis, I thought she should drive (or frog march) you to therapy. Yes, you and I will get along well. I think more people should have an irreverent streak, don’t you?

  3. 3. She had always wanted to galivant but did gad about instead.
    4. Lately, the crotchet was quavering despite the minim it once was. (This is such a music-geek thing that I must apologize…)
    5. No two haberdasheries will ever be tied to the crime.

    Well, that fulfilled my inner geekiness for a bit… lol

      1. I’m sorry my answers were so silly… my kids have been at their mom’s for almost three weeks, and I think it’s affecting my faculties… lol! But haberdashery IS a great word…

Leave a Reply

