Writing The Good Write: How Do You Do It?

thewritingrange.com

The blank screen: we’ve all been there.  I’m not talking about when we sit down at our computers and begin typing maniacally, splashing happily  in our creative juices. I’m talking about  when you’ve decided to write a post everyday and you stare the screen.  It stares back. You continue the staring contest wondering if the well of your thoughts can be drilled any deeper or if it has truly dried up. You begin to fear that your monitor is giggling in delight at your failure because it really wants to look at the fish in the aquarium screensaver rather that at your ugly mug.

Or is this a worse scenario:  You’re writing your post and you feel absolutely no enthusiasm for what you’re writing about?  You’ve got the ticker tape running through your head pronouncing, “This is drivel.  This is drivel.  You might as well take up basket weaving because this is drivel.”   Is coming up with bad ideas worse than having no ideas?  At least if you have no ideas, you’re sparing everyone the bad ones?

This is what I faced yesterday when I wrote two posts before I published the one I liked.  My first was about guilty pleasures, then it transformed into the problems caused by looking like an English teacher.  Both felt contrived and left me feeling “eh”.  Tired, frustrated, and determined to have a post, I turned to one of my poetry instruction books and challenged myself to do the activity on the page it opened.  It opened to pantoums.  So I wrote one.  It was much more satisfying than my other two attempts.

So readers and fellow bloggers, what do you do when you have that feeling of “I didn’t know yesterday’s post was the last one I’d ever write”?  What gets you beyond the hump?  For those of you who post daily, where do you find your inspiration?  How do you know when your post is good and “publishable”?

4 thoughts on “Writing The Good Write: How Do You Do It?

  1. I hate that doubt you get when you feel a post may not be good enough or unpublishable. However, after reading this, I’ve found a bit of comfort in knowing I’m not the only one out there feeling this way. So thank you for that!

    More and more I find that leaving a post and coming back to it helps me come up with something I feel is truly worthy of the blog world. But like you, I would love any tips on finding inspiration or motivation to do a post a day.

    1. It is great (and helpful) when one post brings about another. It’s also challenging because I want to maintain a certain pace and improve my writing, but I don’t want to write something just for the sake of posting. Right now my inspriration is all of my poetry books. I find that if I don’t have anything to say in prose or in an essay, I need a more creative outlet that taps into other parts of my brain. Sometimes I have something to say, but it’s not going to be through the normal channels. Thank you for stopping by and responding!

  2. Thanks for checking out my blog, I was compelled to do the same and was quite happy to find so much content that I related to. I don’t really post as often as I’d like or really I don’t write as often as I’d like. But the circumstances of what I do make public via my blog are usually anything that is semi-adventure related and hopefully emotional or spiritual interesting although admittedly sometimes they are a bit stale. That’s usually situational but I still want to express what the experience was that I had so I write it all by hand first, get a my bits of research together if I needed to do any and then I’ll refine it as I through it onto the computer. I love to edit but I find that in this case it just sounds horrible if I do that to much. I like the easy tone it has if you don’t think too much about it and pretend you’re having a conversation with someone that cares, or at least pretends to care.

    1. Thanks for the response! I don’t write my posts all out by hand; some I just type up, some I just jot down notes for, but if I am away from a computer and I have a big thought, then I will write it out by hand. You’re right on the tone. I tend to get a little serious and try to remember to lighten up. I’m enjoying following your adventure. You’re in my hometown this morning (Fresno). You’re much more complimentary of the San Joaquin Valley than Bill Bryson was in his book The Lost Continent. He gave it one sentence and he wasn’t very nice.

Leave a Reply

