Am I Really Walking In The Desert?

Thanks to my internal clock that refuses to let me sleep in, I was fortunate enough to partake in my favorite Palm Springs activity: my morning walk.  Palm Springs’ morning walks differ from others because you really need to get out there before the sun is too high in the sky and you dry up and no one notices your chalky bones on the ground because everyone thinks they’re part of the desert decor.  Every morning around 7 I slipped out the door and out of the gated community to explore other neighborhoods on foot while my husband steadily snored away.

This trip I took my camera with me with the intention of creating a cutting edge photo-blog of my explorations.  Donning my best photo-journalist air, I scouted opportunities for shots that would reveal the real Palm Springs.  I crouched low to the ground, played with angles, ran off little boys who were in my way, all in the effort of creating a masterpiece.  My husband downloaded my pieces of art into the computer and I began to review my work.  My work reminded me of something… mostly the fact that I have zero photography experience or knowledge, and that my requirements for my new camera were that it be small, cute, and preferably pink.

While most of my efforts I would not even show my family, you know, the people who will patiently look at all pictures presented to them, my best attempts are what I will only share with you, dear reader.

The San Jacinto Mountains. They look like cardboard cut-outs pasted to the sky.
This hummingbird had the right idea to cool off. It was warm!
I really liked the delicate features of the leaves as the sun filtered through (their shade was also much appreciated).
The convergence of the desert and an immaculately manicured golf course that abuts the San Jacinto.
Brown-Eyed Susans grow in an empty lot. I often think of palm trees and Brown-Eyed Susans together, don't you?
This one turned out so well. I have no idea what I did. It caught my attention because it matched my camera.
These untamed wildflowers are so not Palm Springs, where everything is just-so, that I had to take multiple pictures of them.
The scroll of the plant climbing the walls reminded my of the intricate wrought-iron windows in the French Quarter.
It's taken me years to learn to love Palm Springs, but it is the barrenness of the San Jacinto range that I love the most. They remain rugged and untouched from all the development in the valley. As much as the desert is covered up, they remind us where we are.

Where are  your favorite places to wander?  What places have you learned to love?  What color is your camera?

10 thoughts on “Am I Really Walking In The Desert?

  1. I think you got some great pictures with your small, cute, pink camera. How did you get the hummingbird to sit still for you?

    1. Total fluke, Mom! I watched it for a bit before realizing I should take a picture of it. Good thing I did because it flew away once the camera clicked. I’m glad you like the photos! Tell Dad that Steve says it’s very easy to transfer pictures from the camera to computer (maybe that was a hint that I could do it).

    1. I’m glad you enjoyed it! Palm Springs is like nothing else. The only thing that connects to your neck of the woods is the Brown-Eyed Susan. I’m used to seeing it grow wild in Michigan amongst the Queen Anne’s Lace.

  2. Nice work, and I definitely think that you should keep shooting as many images as you can, as long as you’re enjoying it. I was immediately drawn to the mountain shots, and I like the leaf image. You’ve got an eye for photos, so keep shooting and have fun with it! 🙂

    1. Thank you for your encouragement and stopping by! I have been thinking of the different photo-ops coming up in my life and think that I’ll continue to snap away.

  3. You have a GREAT eye! Being from the midwest, with some of my mom’s family on the east coast, I find MOUNTAINS a fascinating subject. I drove from MO to Roswell last year, and was driven a little farther west by friends, and remain amazed at the differences in what people refer to as mountains. We have hills here in the Ozarks. The Appalachains are a bit more mountain-like, but covered with vegetation. Having seen parts of what you’ve shown on here, I remember what it was like to see those BIG ROCKS… not used to that!

    1. The San Jacintos are pretty unique. I grew up taking day trips to Yosemite and now I go into the Sierra Nevada foothills quite often, but I remember seeing the Appalachians for the first time and being a little confused– where were the peaks?

Leave a Reply

