For all of the Pride and Prejudice lovers, and those who love to create things, out there, this post by Mirror With A Memory is an absolute treat.

mirrorwithamemory

Well, readers, you might know by now that this is an antiques blog; but this time I’m going to break my own rules and show you something that I made rather than bought. I started working with dollhouse miniatures around the age of fourteen. For my first project, I built a large sunny yellow Queen Anne dollhouse. I worked on that house in my grandparents’ basement every day after school for two years. While I was still working away in the basement (and burning my fingers with a hot glue gun), the movie Pride and Prejudice came to theaters (the Keira Knightley version, that is). I was enamored by everything in the film: the scenery, the lavish interiors, Mr. Darcy, and the soundtrack by Dario Marianelli. Of course I had read Jane Austen’s novel prior to the movie, but I was never able to connect with her story until I…

View original post 214 more words

Leave a Reply

