Twenty Two Days Then Off And Away

If you want to  know how many days left of school there are, the person to ask is not the student, but the teacher.  Once spring break is over and there are no three day weekends to look forward to, but just solid weeks of teaching (which goes beyond standing in front of class droning, “Bueller, Bueller, Bueller…”), it becomes a mantric countdown.  We don’t even say hello to each other anymore, it’s just, “____ days!”  Today’s mantra is “22”.

This is the time when, besides planning our final lessons, we are also planning our summer break.  All of our summer breaks look different.  Some use it to catch up on all of their scrapbooking, cleaning the house that got neglected for the past ten months, or visiting friends that haven’t been seen in just as long.  We become anxious to do the other stuff in our lives that we enjoy, or think we enjoyed, because it’s been a really long time since we last enjoyed them. We start imagining a life that does not include the sulking, sullen teenager who tells us that everything is “boring” and how no one, in his entire educational career ever taught him adjectives (even though their purpose is continually reviewed in the study of phrases and clauses).  Of course, on the last day of school we will assure that student that, yes, he was indeed our favorite as we wish him a nice life summer and as we help him with his bag and guide him to the door.  We try not to imagine saying goodbye to all of the wonderful students who we watched grow up as they graduate.  We know the halls will be emptier, but there’s always a new batch and the sulky, sullen kid will miraculously mature over the summer and greet us with a hug on the first day of the new term (it’s real, it happens, and it’s rather scary at first).

For me, summer looks like morning yoga and walks, long bouts of uninterrupted blissful reading on the couch followed by a nap, or getting on an airplane and getting out of Dodge.  My mother-in-law once joked that I have the “get-me-the-hell-out-of-here” syndrome– because if there’s an opportunity to go somewhere, I take it.  This summer is shaping up pretty well for travel and uninterrupted reading.  Maybe this year, to commemorate our new computer (which makes this blog possible), I will also paint the office and get some decent office furniture that matches.  There will be lesson planning, too, but it’s spoils the bucolic image, so I don’t think about that until I have to.

There are those of you, like my husband, who are shaking your heads at us for this time off. My husband mutters, “I get to look forward to working everyday until I’m 82 and then maybe can retire.”  If you had two months off, what would you do?

8 thoughts on “Twenty Two Days Then Off And Away

  1. I don’t think people really understand that the two months off is a form of backpay for those extra hours spent grading papers and forming lesson plans during the nine months of the school year. I honestly don’t think I’d have any sanity left if I taught year round school without a decent repreive. The reading part sounds delightful. It’s stolen moments right now to finish a book.
    Happy Pages,
    CricketMuse

    1. I know it. Many of us put in very long days only to continue to work at home and on weekends. Even during summer break we’re going to professional development and refining our lessons. Having a good work-life balance is challenging, but I always make time everyday for my books! They’re my sanity and they remind me what good writing looks like.

  2. Hell… I’ve been fully retired for several years, and am just as busy as now I was when I was working; just that now, all my work is for me, doing what I enjoyed doing as a youngster… I’m always on vacation. In my case, the question would be… what would I do if I had to go to work for 2 months? ……….Wouldn’t go! 🙂

  3. My school goes on a year-round, 10-weeks-on, 3-weeks-off basis. (We get a couple of extra weeks here and there, and we go Tuesday-Friday, so we get a well-balanced amount of working time and down time) Have said that, I LOVE THOSE 3-WEEK BREAKS! It’s not two months, but I sure love the extra sleeping, the catching up on tv, and the blogging time… I know that a large group of the blog entries I made during late March and early April were a direct result of the time off. Got to love those vacations!

    1. I work on a modified traditional schedule, so every ten weeks we get two weeks off with two months off in the summer. I am totally spoiled by this schedule. I’m a total bum in the summer– it’s all about travel and books, and this summer, blogging!

Leave a Reply

