The New Breed

It is strange how an off-hand comment can take on a life of its own.  What means nothing really to you may end up inspiring someone else. For example my off-hand comment to a student has become his mantra, motto, and future clothing line.

A couple of weeks ago my students were working on their essays in class.  A couple of boys, Jesse and Marty, know my weakness as a teacher is that I’m easily distracted and lured me into a conversation about their favorite dog breeds. Jesse favors the Pomeranian and we launched into a discussion about cute, fluffy dogs.  Marty favors big dogs (“real dogs”), and so we  yarned about those, too. Realizing that I had been complicit in their being off-task, I stated that I had a favorite breed, too.

“What is it?” they asked.

“The diligent essay-writing breed.  I like those the most.”

They smiled at me and tried to deflect my meaning, “We’ve never heard of such a breed.”

“It’s a new breed.”

They continued to pretend like they had no clue what I was talking about.

“Be the new breed.” I warned.

Marty’s eyes lit up, “That’s it! That’s going to be the name of my new line!  The New Breed!  And ‘be the new breed’ will be my motto!”

I thought it was a passing fancy until the next day I saw that he had practiced different designs of his new label.  Everything with him now is “the new breed”. He even wrote a poem about what it stands for:

If this is the meaning behind the new breed, then I say, breed on!

5 thoughts on “The New Breed

    1. You’ll be happy to know that my students have heard me state, “NO hanky panky!” numerous times. They think it’s hilarious, but they get my drift.

Leave a Reply

