Fast, Cheap, And Easy

Contrary to your assumptions, I am not talking about myself.  I’m talking about my enchiladas!  *Ahem* No, not those enchiladas (which should be more aptly called Tostitos, thank you very much).  Please, dear reader, get your mind out of the gutter.  I’m trying to create a respectable food blog here!

As I was saying, my enchiladas.  This chicken and bean enchilada recipe is easy and perfect for the nights you do not want to cook.  It is so easy that if you have kids who can reach the counter and like to mash, smear and roll things up, they could make it, and you, on the other hand, can sit down, relax, and write your next post.  Since I don’t have kids and my cats prefer to hold the couch in place, I have to make them myself.  Fortunately, mashing and smearing are a couple of my talents, as is using the can opener.

Your BFF for this recipe.

Preheat your oven to 350.

Into a bowl, dump one 16 oz. can of refried beans, one 10 oz. can cooked white chicken (drained), and one 4 oz. can diced green chiles.

The star ingredients.

Mash together.

Good and mashed.

Smear 1/3 cup of the mixture down the center of an 8″ flour tortilla, roll up and place into a 9×13 baking dish.

Smeared.

Repeat 7 times.

All lined up!

Pour one 10 oz. can of enchilada sauce over the top and sprinkle 1/2 cup of reduced fat shredded cheddar cheese down the center.

I like cheese… more than likely that’s a generous 1/2 cup.

Place in oven, uncovered, for 30 minutes.  Blog.

Take out of oven and let rest before serving.

Ready to eat! My oven is running a little hot, I should have taken them out 5 minutes sooner.

It serves 8.  I have made Spanish rice to serve along side this and have also used corn and melon as sides, too.  You can also top them with sour cream and guacamole if you’re a topping kind of person.  These cost a little less than $10.00 to make, so it’s a great way to feed a lot of people without starving your wallet.

Hokey cover, but good recipes.

This recipe comes from Zonya Foco’s book Lickety-Split Meals. It’s a great resource of health and fitness tips, and for each recipe Foco suggests side dishes and includes them in the planning for the main recipe.  This way everything is done at the same time.  I’ve tried many recipes out of this book, and they all have turned out well.  Plus, she has sections for 1, 5, 15, 30 minute meals (and they hold to that time, unlike Rachael Ray’s recipes which require 30 minutes to gather all of the ingredients), pizza, stir-fry, longer recipes, salads, and desserts.

Bon Appetit!

17 thoughts on “Fast, Cheap, And Easy

      1. Skimming has gotten me into trouble, too! There’s normally a point when I actually read the directions and I go “oops!”. Thank you for the follow!

    1. OK, that prior comment was supposed to go on the one about Summer and staying sane! Wow…I’m tired. However, I think I might be able to mod this a bit and make it something me and my kids would really dig. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

