Your Reward For Getting Out Of Bed In The Morning

Last night the doorbell rang.  I rushed to answer it, stepped outside, and shut the door behind me to prevent Toby and Molly from getting ideas that outdoor living might be nice.  If I was quick enough, I might catch a glimpse the elusive UPS man who drops off our packages and then bolts; instead I was greeted by a two young men delivering a different message: that of the Mormon church. Even though we don’t practice the same things, we had a real discussion about why we each hold our beliefs.  It was nice to have a conversation about differing beliefs without it becoming contentious.

There is one belief that we all can support: the power of a good breakfast.  Without it, it is difficult to embrace life and be a good person.  Instead we lack energy, become cranky, fill our bodies with junk to make up for its absence, and begin a downward unhealthy spiral.  There is a reason it’s the most important meal of the day. We need breakfast in order to be our best selves.  There are many people who follow the false idols of breakfast: the donut, the cereal bar, the coffee and cigarette.  Breakfast should be a reward to your body– your temple.  It should be something that you be thinking about all day long because it is that good.  You can’t wait to wake up the next morning to have it again.

This breakfast exists.  It is on the store shelves and on every breakfast menu, even at Starbucks.  It is… (drumroll please)… oatmeal!

The key to a good breakfast!

Oh, stop making that face.  This isn’t any oatmeal; it’s kick-ass oatmeal. This oatmeal has pumpkin, maple syrup, apples, dried cranberries, walnuts, cinnamon, and three extra grains.  It’s like dessert, but good for you. And you can have it everyday without guilt.  Here’s how:

I start of with a 32 ounce can of pureed pumpkin, and I divide among 12 small, freezer-safe containers (a scant three tablespoons each). To each I add 1 tablespoon of sugar free maple syrup and 1/4 tsp. cinnamon.  I give each a good stir and then freeze them.  I take one container out the night before and put in the fridge to thaw.

All lined up to give you a good start in the morning!

For my oatmeal, I use 1/2 cup of regular oats and add 1 tablespoon each of ground flax seed, oat bran, and wheat germ.  Instead of water, I use non-fat milk; it gives the oatmeal a thicker consistency and adds protein and calcium.  I eyeball the amount of milk I use, but a good starting point is how much the directions on the box suggests.  Then I heat it in the microwave for two and a half minutes.  After it’s done I add about a tablespoon of walnuts and either diced apple or dried cranberries.  I use that time to heat up the pumpkin mix for about 30 seconds in the microwave.  Then I stir it into my oatmeal.

One Christmas, I received two sets of these bowls. One set came from my grandparents and the other from my parents. It was not a planned occurrence; they just knew how much I love oatmeal.  FYI, this is not the most attractive meal, but it sure is good.

This breakfast is packed full of vitamins, omega-3 fatty acids, and about 10 grams of fiber (that’s 40% of your daily allowance).  It’s low in fat, and provides whole grains, so you feel full longer.  It is the best way to reward your body for getting you through the day.  It’s enough to make anyone a believer in breakfast.

Readers: What do you do to make your breakfast kick-ass?

21 thoughts on “Your Reward For Getting Out Of Bed In The Morning

  1. My wife likes oatmeal, so I may suggest this kickass version too. My breakfast is scrambled eggs, taters, coffee, and a fruit smoothie. Now I might add kickass oatmeal. Even if I don’t, I’ll still say “kickass oatmeal” a lot just because I like the way it sounds.

    1. Scrambled eggs and taters is another kickass breakfast. When I went on a backpacking trip through England, that’s all I ate every morning (with the addition of everything else that makes an English breakfast), and that is what kept me going. For normal days, kickass oatmeal is my staple. Hmm… Is it breakfast yet?

  2. I realy enjoy reading your blog and I share your affinity for breakfast as well. However, I have to say that although I detest oatmeal, other than in my mothers cookies, you make it sound tasty. Unfortunately you left out the m

    1. You can always chop up bacon and put it in your oatmeal! Evey now and then Hubby fries me up some turkey bacon, and it sure is good! You’re right– it was a glaring oversight to omit it! : )

  3. I don’t like oatmeal even though it has so many good qualities, I just don’t like to start my day with it 😦

    1. Oatmeal can be an acquired taste! It’s the same with me and blueberries– they’re so good for us– yet I can’t stand them. What is a typical Indian breakfast? What do you eat?

      1. I usually eat parathas (that’s like flattened bread) ,tea or sometimes I have poha (that’s beaten rice with onion and peanuts cooked with salt and turmeric and mustard seeds) and there are so many more options and tasty too… 🙂

      2. Poha and parathas sound really good! When I was a kid, I read a book about what other countries have for breakfast, and one day my mom caught me eating cucumbers and tomatoes (Russia). She didn’t think they made proper breakfast items. Will you do a post on how to make poha? (Please.)

  4. Kick ass oAtmeal sounds yummy. Ours is usually less healthy one of thes- chocolate chip pancakes , mini pancakes muffins from little William Sonoma pan, burrito, or bacon, sausage sausage and fruit . we do left over pizza too. Btw, I usually just offer the people coming door to door with their beliefs a Popsicle with my no thanks. They go away happy

    1. I love the Popsicle idea! That’s brilliant! When I am upset, my mom makes me a breakfast burrito with egg and lots of veggies. Makes me feel better every time. What is it about the combination of eggs, cheese, and tortillas?

  5. And like always, wordpress ate my comment once again!
    Any way,I’l comment again. I have milkshakes for breakfast or just tea sometimes. This looks healthy though.

Leave a Reply

