A List of Delights

Yesterday my friend, Laura, at I’d Rather Sit On The Couch came up with a “small container” list as opposed to a bucket list.  Her reasoning behind this list is to achieve 30 things before she’s 30– but instead of grandiose ideas, she focuses on the smaller delights that she doesn’t get enough of as a new mother (and if you haven’t met Laura yet, please go pay her a visit).  This idea resonated with me for a couple of reasons.  One, I’ve been feeling aimless lately, so a list of delights might give me a purpose and goals.  Two, I’ve never been a bucket list kind of gal.  I’m more into the “sounds good” list– many things sound good to me, and then I go do them.  I’ve found that when I really want something, I usually make it happen.  So if I decide that I want to climb Mt. Kilimanjaro, planning will soon commence.

So in preparation for my (36th) birthday in a couple of months, I’ve come up with a list of delights– or my 36 before 36:

1. Restart one of my book groups that has fallen apart over the summer months.

2. Get back into the habit of reading.

3. Stretch!

4. Read the book I ordered on assessment.

5. (Mother Nature, I need your help) Take a long nap on the couch during a football Sunday.  It must be cold and rainy out, and my husband must take off my glasses and close my book.  It must be this way.

6.  Watch the sunrise more at school (we get the prettiest sunrises).

7.  Listen to podcasts on the way to work now that Mark and Brian have ended their show (*sniff*).

8.  Incorporate more yoga into my routine.

9. Write a poem or two… it’s been awhile.

10. Dare I submit a poem?

11. Do a Trifecta writing challenge.

12. Have dinner with my hubby at Boston Blackie’s in Chicago.

13. Visit the Chicago Museum of Modern Art.

14. Genuinely have fun at a Rush concert with my hubby and not tease him too much or ask, “What’s the name of the one song I like?”

15. If I rode the London Eye… Ride the ferris wheel at Navy Pier?  If it’s open air, then never mind.

16. Think of Gramps at the corner of Michigan and Delaware.

17. Take morning walks along the lake shore.

18. Visit the Frick Museum.

19. Eat an ice cream while walking through Central Park.

20. Have a Stella Artois at a sidewalk cafe in Greenwich in the afternoon as the fall light glimmers among the buildings.

21.  Celebrate my birthday by eating fried chicken and macaroni and cheese and coconut cake at Bubby’s.

22. Walk across the Brooklyn Bridge (eek!).  This might require a strong drink in a nearby bar in Brooklyn and a cab ride back.  The bridge has intrigued me since I read McCullough’s The Great Bridge.

23. Walk through Cartier as the salespeople politely ignore the fact that I cannot afford any of it.

24. Spend more time with my hubs.

25. Have a movie night that includes Pride and Prejudice and Back to the Future and popcorn with molasses.  I’d like it to be cold and rainy then, too.

26. Continue with the 1,000 thing toss out challenge.  I’m up to 109 things so far.

27.  Get a massage.

28. Spend an afternoon reading in bed with my cats by my side.  Again, cold, rainy.

29. Visit my friends who get neglected during the school year– Ginger, Jess, Juliette, Aprille, Alisa.

30. Hail a cab.

31. Go to Apple Hill and take pictures of apples. (No rain or cold, please.  Prefer a nice fall afternoon with a tinge of warm.)

32. Eat peach pie with crumble topping. Nothing ala mode.

33. Go wine tasting in the foothills and drink port out of chocolate cups.

34. Eat the chocolate cups.

35. Remember wine tasting in the foothills.

36. Enjoy the time I have left being 35.

If I had a bucket list, this would be the number one thing on it:

1. Follow Jake Barnes’s route from Paris to Pamplona and San Sebastian and drink lots of wine. My trip won’t be as authentic as his since I won’t see a bull-fight (not an aficionado) nor will I hook up with prostitutes (dull and boring, I know).  My trip will lack the drama of Mike, Robert Cohn, and Brett Ashley, but that’s okay.

This would be the number two thing:

2.  Learn how to fly a plane.  After reading West With The Night by Beryl Markham, a part of me (the tiny part that doesn’t freak out at heights) has wanted to fly a plane.  This feeling was cemented by a trip in a little turbo-prop from Indianapolis to South Bend I took.  It was in the evening and the sun set over the farms and silos.  We were below the clouds and everything was so peaceful and pretty.  I was scared shitless, but it was still pretty.  Plus, my grandpa flew.  Do they allow hard of hearing people who are bad at math fly planes?

Readers: what delights are you looking forward to in your life?

12 thoughts on “A List of Delights

    1. Thank you! Writing the list was fun and reminded me of all thebstuff i have to look forward to. and I want my sweater weather! This “hot” thing has worn out its welcome.

  1. That’s a fantastic list! I complied an “experiences” list with my husband recently and one for myself. I will be posting my 24th birthday list soon enough! Thanks for the ping back for the challenge! 🙂 Cheers!

  2. Really great list! Totally submit a poem! Hail a cab? Well, it is your list, but I recommend spending the hundreds of dollars in cab fare at the Rush concert. I totally would if they were playing songs from that album I like…oh, what is the name? Had ‘time stands still’, ‘prime mover’ and ‘lock and key’ on there? Nope, nothin’ comin’ to me mind! Again, great list! Hope you can acomplish all these many, many things!

    1. Thanks! I love hailing cabs, but you’re right, we’ll need the money for the Rush concert. The best thing about this list is that it’s stuff I want to accomplish. 🙂

    1. I thought the same thing when I heard about from Laura. So many lists (besides to-do) often create pressure and disappointment and make us doubt our positions in life. It’s much better to focus on giving ourselves the treats we enjoy! Thank you for stopping by!

  3. NICE! I think many people’s moments of melancholy stem from failure to accomplish things that may be monumental undertakings… Maybe if I started a list… Thanks, Amy!

    1. Yes, I think we get hung up on the failures in our past and the things we think we should “achieve”. There a lot of people who say’ “I thought I’d have *this* by this ____ age.” But those types of things– home, marriage, children, climbing Mt. Everest– are not guarantees. It is much healthier to focus on what we have accomplished and what we can do. You should create your own list and post it!

Leave a Reply

