Grateful in 2012

This time last year I anxiously awaited 2012, also known as the year of the Dragon in Chinese astrology.  As a fire Dragon, I fully anticipated this to be MY year.  Dragons are known for being rather lucky, and really, who can be luckier than a Dragon in its year?  However, the year of the Dragon is a tumultuous one, fraught with changes and upheaval. No one escapes unscathed… even Dragons.

2012 did give me a year of fortune and luck. I have a loving family and husband. I went to Palm Springs (three times), Michigan, Chicago, and New York; I took four students to London and Paris and brought them all back.  I started this blog, got back into writing, and met wonderful people from all over the world.  I have a job I love with an administration and staff that supports my goals.  I coach our school’s Academic Decathlon team and advise our Book Club, Health Careers Academy, and Adventure Club.  As a result, I spend a lot of time with students who give me a lot of hope for our future.  Then there are my own students who bring me many smiles and laughs.  In their reflections of the class, a few wrote about how they learned to love reading.  As an English teacher, is there any higher compliment?

2012’s upheavals served to remind me how lucky I am.  In February, my cat Toby fell ill and we were quite sure we’d have to say goodbye to him; fortunately, after a weekend at the vet’s, he came home more chipper than ever.  In April my MIL fell and broke her hip.  This resulted in a full hip replacement and pelvic reduction and exposed a whole host of other issues.  Anyone who has a stubborn, fiercely independent aging parent in complete denial about her bad health and habits knows what we’re up against.  There were many tense moments at home as my husband tried to acquire care for her even though he is 400 miles away.  Right now everything is “stable”– whatever that means.  Meanwhile, my health went bonkers with recurring bouts of getting sick (ie. vomiting) that landed me in the ER, my doctor’s office a few times, and the gastro-entologist.  We’re still pursuing tests to find the root of the problem.  Next up is my colon (yay.).  The most recent tests revealed that I am anemic, which helps explain my lethargy and constant need for sleep.  Oftentimes, I come home from work, take a nap, eat dinner, and go back to bed; hence, no blogging.

2012 taught me how to be grateful for everything I have.  I am grateful for my husband who takes care of me and makes me laugh.  I am grateful for my family who is always there for me.  I am grateful for my friends who all inspire me.  I am grateful for my cats, Toby and Molly, who melt my heart.  I am grateful for my job and my students.

I am also grateful for all of the readers who read my work regularly and those who stop by every now and again.  Thank you for making this so much fun.

Happy New Year!

23 thoughts on “Grateful in 2012

  1. Wish u a very warm and happy New Year dear Amy, happy to know that your year of dragon was very satisfactory.. Wishing u good health and laughter forever… 🙂

  2. Happy New Year to you and yours, as well. I’m glad to know why you’ve been absent, although it makes me sad you’re still feeling poorly. Here’s hoping you get a final diagnosis, and that it is easily treated and cured. ((Hugs))

  3. Just catching up after a long bloggy break… How are things with your health? Going through reoccurring bouts of sickness sounds awful and not knowing the cause sounds even worse/so stressful. I hope you’re feeling better and that it’s nothing serious.

    1. Hi Laura! I’ve been on a bloggy break, too. Too much stuff I want to read and too much time asleep. My health is okay– like you I started off the year with the flu. I still don’t know the cause of my other illnesses. I have to have a not-so-fun test done. How are you doing?

      1. I definitely go through phases where I blog more (even daily) and less (not at all for months). After going through a few waves I sort of think it’s a good thing. Your loyal readers stick around, you forget about the blogs that aren’t that important to you and you’re eager to catch up on the ones you really care about.

        Sorry to hear you had the flu. Boo! And MAN, not knowing what’s going on has to be SO FRUSTRATING!! Are you feeling any better at least? Besides the flu, I mean?

        Anyway, I’m doing pretty good I think. I have my good days and my bad days. But that’s just life, right? Overall, I feel pretty good.

      2. I agree with your point about loyal readers and the blogs we really want to read. While I have been quiet on the blogosphere, I still read many– mostly those that I have selected to come through my email (ie. yours). I’ve been feeling better lately– been working out and walking and reading. It’s been about self-care. Sorry to hear about your therapist giving up her practice, but I loved your last line of looking into the empty wine glass. Finding a good therapist that you really connect to and can tell you what you need to hear is hard. I hope all goes well.

      3. I’m flattered that you’re still reading my blog! Thank you for the compliment. It means a lot, especially coming from you (an excellent writer and avid reader).

        Glad to hear you’re feeling better. Self-care is so important. You deserve it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

